About: At the heart of the Benihana experience is the teppanyaki table, around which guests gather and enjoy a meal expertly prepared and cooked to perfection on a steel grill, right before their eyes — by a chef who is as much entertainer as culinary master.

Review: Benihana is pretty popular in London and in the US but sadly not a lot of people heard about it here. Hell I didn’t even know it was here till I spotted it walking around in Avenues. Anyway to start with, the location is probably the worst location for a Benihana, I mean really ? In a mall ?! The experience is way different compared to other restaurants in Avenues where you really don’t feel like your in one. In Benihana its all about the experience, from the food to the chef. Also it was pretty quiet compared to other Benihanas. So me and a friend ordered a few appetizers and entrees. The negimayaki and ebi tempura were the worst I have ever tried in my life. The tempura sauce smelled like soap (serious) or maybe really bad ginger and the negimayaki had no flavor whatsoever. I decided to let that slide and wait for everyone’s favorite, the onion soup. That failed badly, I was basically drinking water. I also ordered Ebi sushi just to fill me up yet also another fail! The amount of wasabi in each sushi made me dizzy for 2 minutes, it was criminal.

So once the chef came out I was like you couldn’t screw this any more. I saw the neighboring tables chef and it was too funny to watch. His voice was monotone and was very gloomy for a teriyaki chef (also extremely slow). Not to be racist but he was of Indian decent but then we saw our chef who was Asian (yay). Our chef was really happy and had a few tricks (not the best) but at least looked more confident. I noticed that the Benihana experience just does not fit in Kuwait, everywhere else you see the customers clapping and cheering while in Kuwaits its just dead silent. Anyway so just when I was about to never come again, Benihana came back! I just tasted the meat and fried rice and sat there and drooled for 15 minutes. Maybe it was the amount of butter in each entree but still it was DELICIOUS. The moral of this story is, just order entrees! Everything else sucks but god help me the meat was really good.

[rating: 3/5]

It just didn’t feel like Benihana and the meat saved them. I would think maybe its the first month for most of the chefs but they seriously need to improve. Also I forgot to take pictures after I started eating the meats just to give you an idea of how good it was.

